Welcome to Keewaytinook Okimakanak

Keewaytinook Okimakanak, which means Northern Chiefs in Oji-Cree, is a non-political Chiefs Council serving Deer Lake, Fort Severn, Keewaywin, McDowell Lake, North Spirit Lake and Poplar Hill First Nations. The organization is directed by the Chiefs of the member First Nations who form the Board of Directors. Through its close awareness of community needs and its team approach, the Council advises and assists its member First Nations. The Council provides services in the areas of health, education, economic development, employment assistance, legal, public works, finance and administration, and computer communications (K-Net Services). The Executive Director liaises with the six Chiefs, with the staff of the Council and with other organizations and governments.

Current Chiefs:

Chief Mickie Meekis, Deer Lake First Nation
Chief Paul Burke, Fort Severn First Nation
Chief George Kakekagumick, Keewaywin First Nation
Chief Mary Lawson, McDowell Lake First Nation
Chief Rita Thompson, North Spirit Lake First Nation
Chief James Suggashie, Poplar Hill First Nation

Cheryl Bechard
2 years 3 weeks
The Women Leaders in Digital Health Award

Let's take the opportunity to congratulate our very own Orpah Mackenzie on her recent award as being one of the 2019 Women Leaders in Digital Health